News Sports

Australia Wins Women's T20 World Cup Final

Melbourne: Australia defeated India in the final here on Sunday to lift their fifth T20 World Cup. Needing 185 to win their maiden T20I World Cup, Indian women crumbled under the pressure and were all out for 99 in 19.1 overs. 
India suffered a major setback in the first over itself with the dimissal of Shefali Verma. The trend continued as none of the Indian batswoman were able to absorb the pressure and anchor the innings. 
India lost the important wickets of Shefali Verma (2), Jemima Rodrigues (0), Smriti Mandhana (11) and Harmanpreet Kaur (4) within the first six overs. 
All the Indian batswomen were dismissed trying to play big shots. Megan Schutt picked up four wickets while Jess Jonanssen claimed three. Delissa Kimmince, Sophie Molineux and Nicola Carey picked up one wickets each.
Australia had been the dominant side from the first ball in the final. India could not take their form in the tournament into the final. Indian women walked into the final undefeated and were the favorites to lift the cup.
Earlier, the home side won the toss and chose to bat first. Alyssa Healy's 39 ball 75 made sure that the they were off to a flying start. Her performance was backed by Beth Mooney, who stayed not out at 78 (54 balls). The pair contributed to mored than three quarters of the Australian total. After 20 overs, Australia scored 184/4. 
Beth Mooney is batting alongside Healy with  30 runs off 26 balls. In the bowling department, Team India could not display the same discipline that they showed in the previous matches of the tournament. It is noticeable that no bowler was able to keep her run rate below 6 in their four over spell. 
Other Deepti Sharma (2 wickets), Radha Yadav and Poonam Yadav contributed with the ball and picked up a wicket each.